Privacy Settings and Safety Tips for Using Flickr

In this article we’ll share a few privacy settings that anyone can use within Flickr so that they’re getting maximum privacy.

 

  • Getting Started
  • Default Privacy Settings
  • Editing Your Public Profile
  • Global Settings: Privacy and Permissions
  • Defaults for New Uploads
  • Uploading Photos

 

 

Getting Started

You will need to login to Flickr by using your Yahoo ID. If you don’t have a Yahoo ID, simply create a new Yahoo ID. *Please note: make sure to change your Yahoo ID password often.

Once you have logged on to Flickr, click on “You.”

 

Next, scroll down to where it says “Privacy & Permission.” Underneath privacy and permission, click on the “default preferences” link.

 

Default Privacy Settings

Now you should be in the Default Privacy page. On this page you will want to select “Only You” and check off “Your Friends” and also “Your Family.” If you feel comfortable with making your Flickr photostream available to the public, select “Anyone.”

 

Scroll down to where it says “Who can comment?” Select either “Your Friends and/or Family” or “Only You” for maximizing your privacy.

 

Scroll down to where it says “Who can add notes, tags, and people?” and select “Only You.” After you have finished changing your settings, click “Save Settings.”

 

 

Editing Your Public Profile

After you changed your default privacy settings, go to your main account page. To go to your main account page, click on the arrow next to “You” and click on “Your Account.”

On the main account page, click on the “Personal Information” tab and scroll down to the “Your profile” heading and click on the “if it’s searchable” link.

You are now on the “Your account / Hiding from search” page. Here you will want to check off “Hide your photos from site-wide searches” and “Hide your photos from searches on 3rd party sites” for maximum privacy. You may also want to select “Hide me from site-wide searches on flickr and 3rd party sites that use API.” Don’t forget to save your new settings.

Now go back to the main account page and click on the personal information tab. Scroll back down to the “your profile” heading and click on the “edit who can see what” link.

Now you should be in the “Your profile privacy” page. To make your profile more private, select the following settings:

Don’t forget to click save after you’ve changed your settings.

Next, go back to the main account page, click on the “Personal Information” tab and scroll down to the “Your profile” heading and click on the “edit” link. You should now be in the “Edit your profile” page.

Add information to your profile that you feel comfortable sharing. After you have modified your profile, click “Save It.”

Tip: you can view your how your profile looks to the general public by logging out and viewing your profile URL. Your profile URL would be http://www.flickr.com/people/YourUsername/

If you still can’t locate your profile URL, you can go to the “Your Account” page, click on the “Personal Information” page and locate the “Your profile” heading and click on “view your profile page.” Copy the URL and then log out to view how your profile looks to the general public.

 

Global Settings: Privacy and Permissions

To go to the Global Settings/Privacy and Permissions section go to your main account page. Click on the arrow next to “You” and click on “Your Account.” On the main account page, click on the “Privacy & Permissions” tab.

In the Global Settings/Privacy and Permissions page, scroll down to where it says “Who can share your photos or video?” and click the “edit” link.

In the allowing sharing page, choose “Only You” and save changes. *Note: Flickr states that even if you select this option people can still share the URL to your photos or videos.

Next, underneath the “Who can add you to a photo?” heading, click on the “edit” link.

Select “Only You” and save changes.


Next, underneath the “Who can blog your stuff” heading, click on the “edit” link.

Select “Only You” and save changes.

 

Next, by the “Allow your stuff to be added to a gallery” heading, click on the “edit” link.

Select, “No, thanks” and save changes.

 

Next, by the “Hide your EXIF data” heading, click on the “edit” link. Select “Yes” and save changes.

 

Next, scroll down to where it says “Make your photos eligible for invitation by Getty Images?” and click “edit.” Make sure to uncheck the box if you don’t want your photos to be eligible for invitation by Getty Images. Be sure to save your new settings.

 

Defaults for New Uploads

To go to the Global Settings/Defaults for new uploads section, go to your main account page. Click on the arrow next to “You” and click on “Your Account.”

 

On the main account page, click on the “Privacy & Permissions” tab.

Scroll down to the “Defaults for new uploads” heading. Scroll down to where it says “Who will be able to see your stuff on a map” and click on the “edit” link. Be sure to save your new settings.

Next, scroll down to where it says “Import EXIF location data” and make sure that it is set to “No.” If it is set to yes, simply click on the “edit” link and make sure that the box is left unchecked. Be sure to save your new settings.

 

And finally, if someone is harassing you on the Flickr community, be sure to report it to Flickr by clicking on the “Report Abuse” link on the bottom of the website.

 

Flickr Safety Tips

To socialize and navigate on the Flickr community safely, you’ll want to:

  • Avoid clicking on redirect links from users you don’t trust. Usually redirect links are from spammers who will attempt to redirect you to a virus! Make sure you only click on links from users you know and trust.
  • Be extremely cautious when it comes to revealing any personal information publically, such as your email address, phone number, home address, and your work address.
  • Change your Yahoo password often and don’t use the same password on any other websites.
  • As an extra precaution, you can use RoboForm¬†to login, store, and create passwords securely for you.
  • Avoid using identifying landmarks in your photos such as your workplace, school names, etc.

 

Top